Park Jaechan, Lee Junho Dominate The Popular Actor At APAN Star Awards 2022

The 8th APAN Star Awards has released its official list of candidates for this year’s Popular Actor and the final winner is fully decided by fans worldwide through the “Idol Champ” voting app.

As of September 7th, Park Jaechan and Lee Junho are leading the race for the popularity award. Both actors delivered impressive performances and gained huge recognition this year.

Captured from Idol Champ app on September 7th.

Park Jaechan played as a conscientious, rule-oriented, emotionless junior student in Watcha’s Semantic Error (2022), a “Boys’ Love” (BL) series. He gets entangled with a senior student who is his polar opposite and develops feelings for him. The drama received a rating of 8.7/10 on IMDb with positive reviews from the audience: “Best BL adaptation K-drama”, “Good storyline and chemistry”, “Handsome couple”, “Exceeded my expectations”.

Lee Junho played as the perfectionist Crown Prince who falls in love with a cheerful court maid in MBC’s The Red Sleeve (2021-2022). The drama became one of the most popular series in 2021 and has achieved 16 wins out of 31 nominations including Junho’s three “Best Actor” wins so far. On IMDb, it received a rating of 8.6/10 from viewers worldwide, praising the drama as “A solid historical drama”, “A masterpiece”, “The way to write a sageuk drama”, “Artistic”, “Beautifully filmed”.

Other candidates included Rowoon in The King’s Affection (2021), Ahn Hyo-seop in A Business Proposal (2022), Kim Soo-hyun in One Ordinary Day (2021), Son Su-kku in My Liberation Notes (2022), Song Joong-ki in Vincenzo (2021), Im Siwan in Tracer (2022), Jeong Il-woo in Bossam: Steal The Fate (2021), and Yoo Ah-in in Hellbound (2021).

The poll will run from September 5 to 25, 2022 and the final winner will be officially announced during the awarding ceremony on September 29th at Korea International Exhibition Center, Ilsanseo-gu, Goyang, Gyeonggi Province.

APAN Star Awards is an an awards ceremony that recognizes the excellence in South Korea’s television including domestic terrestrial, general, cable, OTT, and web dramas, and contribution to Hallyu (Korean wave), organized by the Korea Entertainment Management Association (CEMA).

Congratulations to all the candidates!