Kang Daniel Leads Outstanding K-Pop Idol In Seoul International Drama Awards 2022

Kang Daniel dominates the fan-based poll in the Outstanding K-Pop Idol category for this year’s Seoul International Drama Awards, the largest international awards for drama.

The Outstanding K-Pop Idol award, which is a collaboration between K-pop and K-drama, is given to the idol-actor who has made significant contributions in speading Hallyu wave. The candidates are selected based on appearances in dramas that aired between May 2021 until June 2022 and the winner is fully decided by fans worldwide through the “Idol Champ” voting app.

Kang Daniel as Wi Seung-hyun in Rookie Cops (2022). Photo from Disney+.

As of August 1st, Kang Daniel from Rookie Cops (2022) has taken first place for the Best Idol Actor. The Korean singer-actor performed a main role as a young police officer in Disney+ series, Rookie Cops (2022). He is followed by Park Jae-chan from Semantic Error (2022) and BLACKPINK’s Jisoo from Snowdrop (2021-2022).

Other candidates included Lee Junho, Jinyoung, Park Ji-hoon, Yunho, Hyungwon, Rowoon, Seonghwa, Jongho, San, Yoon Dujun, Kim Jonghyun, Hwang Minhyun, Sehun, Minnie, Donghyun, Siwon, Youngjae, Dawon, Joy, Miyeon, Jeong Eun-ji, Yu-bin, Kyoungyoon, Cha Ni, Wooseok, Hongseok, Munik, Jaeyoon, Zu Ho, Yeri, Hwiyoung, Son Dongwoon, Inseong, Solbin, Yeoone, and Oh Hayoung.

Captured from Idol Champ app on August 1st.

Seoul International Drama Awards officially announced its first offline event post-pandemic with 225 oustanding dramas from 39 countries submitted.

The organizing committee with NeoWiz CO., LTD. considered the Hallyu fans worldwide by launching a mobile voting system through the Idol Champ app with the categories Outstanding Performance by a Male and Female Actor, Best OST, Outstanding Asian Star, and Outstanding K-Pop Idol.

The poll will run from August 1 to 31, 2022 and the final winners will be officially announced during the awarding ceremony on September 22nd. The event will be broadcast live simultaneously on KBS2 TV from 17:00 to 19:00 KST.

Congratulations to all the candidates and final winner!